Album: No Protection

No Protection[album]

No Protection is the name of a dub remix of Massive Attack's second album Protection. The remix was done by the British dub producer Mad Professor. Mad Professor was contacted by Massive Attack after "Protection" was released to remix a song for a single. After the single was remixed, the band asked Mad Professor to listen to more of the album to explore the possibility of further remixes. The project then became a track by track remix of the entire album. Mad Professor heavily edited the original material to form a slow, pulsating mix in which the beat is emphasized, reverb is extensively used and the occasional vocals (many of the tracks are almost entirely instrumental) fade in-and-out in typical dub fashion, making a hypnotic, if slightly repetitive, mix. The result is arguably more textured than the original, but loses any sense of the jazzy feel of "Protection." Track listing "Radiation Ruling the Nation" (based on "Protection") – 8:35 "Bumper Ball Dub" (based on "Karmacoma") – 5:59 "Trinity Dub" (based on "Three") – 4:22 "Cool Monsoon" (based on "Weather Storm") – 7:10 "Eternal Feedback" (based on "Sly") – 6:26 "Moving Dub" (based on "Better Things") – 5:57 "I Spy" (based on "Spying Glass") – 5:07 "Backward Sucking" (based on "Heat Miser") – 6:17 User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.